0

Drive soft robots: agile and strong

Compared to conventional rigid robots with heavy metals and tethered motors, soft robots, made of soft materials, demonstrate promising work, like the intelligent biological organisms, because they have a greater degree of freedom, to be nimble and adapt to environmental changes. However, their softness can also be problematic, when it comes to complex forms or strains of hard work.

For precise control and local forms and soft robots movement with considerable force and deformation required actuators, who are very responsive and durable.

Among the various soft and sensitive materials liquid crystal elastomers (LCE) demonstrate the intrinsic anisotropy and reversible deformation of the shape during phase transitions under the influence of external stimuli, including heat and light, which is very desirable for actuators. By controlling molecular alignment of liquid crystal molecules within the network, You can program the movement of LCE. However, spatial equalization control usually requires multistage manufacture and limits the size of actuators. As elastomers, most LCE actuators also lacks the desired mechanical strength to create a large volume of work.

Inspired by the musculoskeletal system in humans and other animals, Our team, led by Shu Yang professor at the University of Pennsylvania has recently developed based on the extrusion method for the manufacture of incandescent drives LCE meter.

To improve the mechanical strength of the yarn is added to elastomers 2 wt.% of carbon nanotubes, are known for their ultra-high strength, low mass and high electrical and thermal conductivity. Besides, a small amount of cellulose nanocrystals, a unique type of nanomaterial, obtained from plant cellulose fibers, It was mixed to improve the alignment of liquid crystal molecules inside thread, which is essential for achieving anisotropic mechanical and reversible reactions.

The ability of carbon nanotubes to absorb near infrared light and generate heat can cause a phase transition in the LCE, that triggers the filament in the light. By combining copper wires with a thread, passing an electric current for heating, hybrid yarn LCE is also sensitive electrothermal.

Consequently, Filament drive has a double sensitivity and can be quickly and reversibly actuated by applying a near-infrared light, a small voltage (8 AT), as shown below.

Schematic representation of activations, respond to near-infrared light (left panel) and electrothermal reactions (right panel), using liquid crystalline elastomer yarns, doped carbon nanotubes.

The thread can be placed in arbitrary structure or integrated into a system-level robotics for any type of movement. Maximum performance (the ability of the actuators to perform mechanical work) is 38 Joules per kilogram – value, comparable with the value of the skeletal muscles in mammals.

"Our hybrid design of the LCE thread allows soft robots lift heavy objects, without diminishing their agility. force, created during actuation, It is one of the highest values ​​in the current soft actuators ", – Gao said Yuchong, lead author of the article. "The muscular form of thread, providing an even greater degree of freedom than the traditional film drives, It is also ideally suited for integration into various types of soft intelligent robotic systems ".

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

0

Привод мягких роботов: ловкий и сильный

По сравнению с обычными жесткими роботами с тяжелыми металлами и привязными моторами, мягкие роботы, изготовленные из мягких материалов, демонстрируют многообещающую работу, подобно интеллектуальным биологическим организмам, поскольку они обладают большей степенью свободы, чтобы быть ловкими и приспосабливающимися к изменениям окружающей среды. Однако их мягкость также может быть проблематичной, когда дело доходит до сложных деформаций формы или тяжелой работы.

Для точного и локального контроля формы и передвижения мягких роботов со значительной деформацией и силой требуются исполнительные механизмы, которые очень отзывчивы и прочны.

Среди различных мягких и чувствительных материалов жидкокристаллические эластомеры (LCE) демонстрируют собственную анизотропию и обратимую деформацию формы во время фазовых переходов при воздействии внешних раздражителей, включая тепло и свет, которые очень желательны для исполнительных механизмов. Управляя молекулярным выравниванием молекул жидкого кристалла внутри сети, можно запрограммировать передвижение LCE. Тем не менее, пространственный контроль выравнивания обычно требует многоэтапного изготовления и ограничивает размеры приводов. Как и эластомеры, большинству приводов LCE также не хватает желаемой механической прочности для создания большого объема работы.

Вдохновленный костно-мышечной системы у человека и других животных, наша команда во главе с профессором Шу Ян в Университете Пенсильвании недавно разработал метод экструзии на основе для изготовления приводов накаливания LCE метровых.






Для повышения механической прочности нити в эластомеры добавляли до 2 мас.% Углеродных нанотрубок, которые известны своей сверхвысокой прочностью, малой массой и высокой электрической и теплопроводностью. Кроме того, небольшое количество нанокристаллов целлюлозы, уникального типа наноматериала, полученного из волокон растительной целлюлозы, было смешано для улучшения выравнивания молекул жидкого кристалла внутри нити, что существенно для достижения анизотропных и обратимых механических реакций.

Способность углеродных нанотрубок поглощать ближний инфракрасный свет и выделять тепло может вызвать фазовый переход в LCE, что приводит к срабатыванию нити на свету. Комбинируя медные провода с нитью, передавая электрический ток для нагрева, гибридная нить LCE также является электротермически чувствительной.

Следовательно, привод нити накаливания имеет двойную чувствительность и может быстро и обратимо приводиться в действие путем подачи либо ближнего инфракрасного света, либо небольшого напряжения (8 В), как показано на рисунке ниже.

Схематическое изображение активаций, реагирующих на ближний инфракрасный свет (левая панель) и электротермических реакций (правая панель), с использованием жидкокристаллических эластомерных нитей, легированных углеродными нанотрубками.

Нить может быть помещена в произвольные структуры или интегрирована в робототехнику системного уровня для различных типов передвижения. Максимальная работоспособность (способность исполнительных механизмов выполнять механическую работу) составляет 38 Дж на килограмм — значение, сопоставимое со значением скелетных мышц у млекопитающих.

«Наш гибридный дизайн из нити LCE позволяет мягким роботам поднимать тяжелые предметы, не уменьшая их ловкость. Сила, создаваемая во время приведения в действие, является одним из самых высоких значений в современных мягких приводах », — сказал Ючонг Гао, ведущий автор статьи. «Мышечная форма нити, обеспечивающая еще большую степень свободы по сравнению с традиционными пленочными приводами, также идеально подходит для интеграции в различные типы мягких интеллектуальных роботизированных систем».

Добавить комментарий